The Little Red Lodge By Bow Lake

The Little Red Lodge, Banff National Park, Canada

I wish I’d known about this little red lodge before our trip to Canada! Just by Bow Lake it must be the perfect place to stay for a couple of nights in Banff National Park. This was our third stop along the Icefields Parkway and we still had so much more to explore.

Unfortunately it was pretty windy and the water was very unsettled. I didn’t have a tripod with me for a long exposure so I decided to focus on taking longer shots of the surrounding mountains to avoid having too much unwanted texture at the bottom of the image. I’m not sure why but I never like that in photos!

Just before we set off we heard another group shouting – “Look, a bear!” – and just a few metres away from us was a black bear right by the parking area! Equal parts terrified and excited, we moved away slowly to continue our journey along the Icefields Parkway.

Have you ever seen a bear? Where’s the best place you’ve been for wildlife spotting? Maybe you know something about this lodge?! Please get in touch!

4 thoughts on “The Little Red Lodge By Bow Lake

  1. Tom Schultz

    Bow Lake is the purest example of that turquoise color common to so many of the lakes in Banff NP. Of course, for the geology maven those rocks in the mountainside are an excellent example of stratified sedimentary layers. 😉 Glad you avoided the bear; I’ve always enjoyed seeing them from the safety of my car.

    Reply
    1. Ben Post author

      Of course they are! 🙂 All I know is they create nice lines of snow in the mountains which makes an image ‘pop’ a little more. So here’s to stratified sedimentary layers! I definitely agree on the bears, much more enjoyable when not fearing for your life.

      Reply
    1. Ben Post author

      Yeah I know the feeling, I have so many photos from this trip it’s going to take a while. Good luck with yours! Where did you see the most wildlife? I’ve heard Jasper is much much better for that and we didn’t quite make it that far.

      Reply

Leave a comment