Waiting For Martians At Haleakala

Haleakala, Maui

If I were ever to see martians land on earth, this is the spot in which I would be least surprised. The Haleakala volcano dominates the eastern side of Maui, and really looks like another planet entirely. Given its size, Hawaii sure has more than its fair share of incredible landscapes!

This shot was taken as I explored the Sliding Sands trail that passes through the main summit crater, which actually isn’t volcanic in nature but the result of erosion over many years. As the name suggests it was pretty sandy, so I had to be quick when switching to my zoom lens for this image.

I took so many photos at the summit, but this was one of my favourite compositions. The colours and flow of the landscape would be perfect for a painting, and I tried to maintain a softer feel while processing in Lightroom. At the top of the frame you can see the clouds and beyond that the Pacific ocean. An unforgettable view!

6 thoughts on “Waiting For Martians At Haleakala

    1. Ben Post author

      Thanks Scott, that’s a great point on the texture. The sand appears to get smoother the further away it is but I can assure you that’s an illusion of perspective!

      Reply
    1. Ben Post author

      Yeah I was above the clouds here at around 3000m. It’s an incredible feeling! If you’ve never been that high I can certainly recommend it, just watch out for the altitude sickness!

      Reply
    1. Ben Post author

      It certainly is Mitch! I have a few more to share from this hike, although I still have to sort through my shots from this trip properly. I didn’t complete the entire hike as I arrived too late in the day, but it’s a great reason to go back some day! Have you hiked the entire trail?

      Reply

Leave a comment