Finding Peace In The Jerónimos Monastery

Cloister, Jeronimos Monastery

Just as impressive as the adjoining Church of Santa Maria, the Jerónimos Monastery in Lisbon was a sight to behold. With fantastic photo opportunities in every direction, the distinctive gothic style was as awe-inspiring as I had ever seen.

I felt a great sense of peace exploring the monastery. But looking back through my photos, the juxtaposition between its intimidating architectural style and the peaceful setting inspired by its environment is intriguing.

This shot was taken in the cloister, a beautiful courtyard surrounded by an ornate two-storey gallery. There were many great angles looking through the decorative arches towards the bell tower. This was the best I could find after walking around both floors of the gallery.

11 thoughts on “Finding Peace In The Jerónimos Monastery

    1. Ben Post author

      Thanks Scott, I’m finding that natural framing is a great starting point for architectural compositions like this one. The arches in the cloister were really perfect in that respect.

      Reply
    1. Ben Post author

      Thanks Merilee, I really enjoyed this architectural style in Lisbon. Some day I’d like to see more of it throughout the rest of Portgual!

      Reply
  1. Laura

    I really loved the cloisters there – I think it might have been my favorite spot in Lisbon! And I agree with you, it was so peaceful. Great shot.

    Reply
    1. Ben Post author

      Thanks Laura, I think it may be my favourite spot too! Although I did enjoy the Bairro Alto district throughout the evenings. Without doubt the monastery was the best spot for photos, such an incredible building!

      Reply
    1. Ben Post author

      Thanks Alicia. There is so much great detail in the building’s decoration. I always think these things must take such a long time to complete, with so much care and attention given to every inch. I’m glad I could bring that to you with this shot!

      Reply
    1. Ben Post author

      Thanks Stacy, this shot has proved much more popular than I imagined! I have to remember sometimes that there is more to life than landscape photography 😉

      Reply

Leave a comment