A Bumpy Ride Towards A Phuket Sunrise

Sunrise, Phuket, Thailand

With the wind in my hair I volunteered to sit at the front of the boat, having no idea that it was the most uncomfortable spot on the thing. Especially in choppy conditions! Riding towards the sunrise in Phuket must be one of my most memorable experiences to date.

I may have been fearing for the integrity of my spine as I bounced up and down with the waves. But being at the front meant I had an unobstructed view of the beauty unfolding right in front of us. I didn’t regret a minute of it, although my back may have disagreed at the time.

Placing the boat in the foreground to provide some perspective and a sense of place, I wanted to use the middle of the bow as a subtle leading line to the sunrise. Trying to get a clean shot while being thrown about every few seconds proved very difficult! I definitely didn’t have many keepers at the end of the trip, but fortunately one or two made the cut.

Do you have any tales of woe from a boating experience? Or maybe you’ve tried shooting from a fast moving vehicle before? I’d love to hear from you!

14 thoughts on “A Bumpy Ride Towards A Phuket Sunrise

    1. Ben Post author

      That’s a pity Barb, although there are endless places to explore without ever taking to the water! Thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚

      Reply
  1. worldruler007

    Awesome! I once went canoeing with a friend, and brought my camera. When we tried to go back to the shore, the current kept pulling us further into the water and for a while we went in circles. Somehow, we managed to get out of it, but I didn’t have time to snap photos.

    Reply
    1. Ben Post author

      I guess you must have been paddling pretty hard to get back to shore! Sounds a little bit scary to me, so I’m not surprised you didn’t manage to get any photos. Maybe next time! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  2. suej

    Like this, especially given the challenges! I have tried to take images from boats, trains, cars, and as long as you choose a fast shutter speed, you can get some kind of result. But often what you want has disappeared in an instant! πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. Ben Post author

      Thanks Sue. Agreed that shutter priority mode is definitely the best bet when you’re moving around. As you say timing is the real challenge!

      Reply
  3. SPFischer

    Breathtaking! So glad to be able to enjoy this incredible view from the comfort of my own home πŸ™‚ On my recent travels, I tried shooting from my moving car (I was a passenger, I must add) and a few even were good enough to keep. I went whitewater rafting on that trip as well, but sadly couldn’t bring my camera. On the other hand, it was fortunate that there was a photographer on shore who happily snapped away and I was later able to purchase a few prized keepsakes of our journey from him!

    Reply

Leave a comment