Post-Processing in Lightroom: Into A Dream

When I’m out with a camera I always try to let my imagination run wild with the landscapes around me. As soon as I saw the subject of this week’s post-processing tutorial I knew the artistic direction I wanted to take with it in Lightroom.

In this week’s video I demonstrate how I created the dream-like feeling in this shot using the temperature and vignette sliders. After a request from Kan of Kan Walk Will Travel I also made sure to use a shot with which I could demonstrate the Graduated Filter tool.

So this will be my first request fulfilled! If you have anything you’d like to see more of just let me know and I’ll do my best to include it in a future video. I hope you enjoy this week’s tutorial, and if you have any questions please don’t hesitate to ask! For those who don’t enjoy the video format you can see the before and after below.

Do you have any tips for using the Graduate Filter tool? Or maybe you have another example of fulfilling your artistic vision with Lightroom? I’d love to hear from you!

9 thoughts on “Post-Processing in Lightroom: Into A Dream

    1. Ben Post author

      Thanks Scott. Haha, I suppose I am! But looking back at these shots and analysing more closely what changes I made and why is all part of the learning process. So why not share it with others?!

      Reply
  1. SPFischer

    Ben, I really like the overall direction you took with the post-processing on this photo, and it was a nice use of the graduated filter. I’ve used it a number of times and figured out how to properly angle it if I need to, but I definitely need to study up on how to change the spacing between the lines to make the affected area smaller or larger. I just haven’t had the time to do so. Do you happen to know?

    Reply
    1. Ben Post author

      I have no idea! But I have found it hard in the past to determine whether that bottom line properly marks the boundary of the filter. I’m sure it doesn’t but then I wonder what the point of it is. I shall have to get googling as well!

      Reply
  2. Kan

    Hey Ben, thank you so much for honoring my request! Very helpful video and I loved your post-processing treatment of this shot. Will have to try using the graduated filter tool now. Thanks again πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a comment