Name That Lake

Reflections, Massif des Bauges, France

I went the wrong way a couple of times trying to find this hidden gem of a lake, and I still have no idea what it’s called. Maybe we can come up with a name here! At the end of an afternoon hiking in the nearby mountains I was almost ready to give up and go home.

It makes me wonder how many times I’ve been so close to something so beautiful and had no idea. If you’re interested it’s one of the three lakes just south east of Lescheraines in the Massif des Bauges. I’m looking forward to exploring the other two on another trip.

Reflections like this are always nice to look at, but there is also a subtle natural progression from dark to light across the image from right to left which I really like. Hopefully it leads the eye through the image. Although apparently we look naturally from left to right, so maybe that won’t work quite so well. Let me know!

6 thoughts on “Name That Lake

    1. Ben Post author

      Thanks! Whereabouts is Lake Emerald? I need to get out and explore more of the mountain lakes around here, they’re so peaceful and calm. Really beautiful stuff.

      Reply
  1. pix & kardz

    a lake by another name looks just as brilliant…. with regard to name ‘Lake Emerald’, there is an Emerald Lake in the Canadian Rockies, however i only ever saw it once and it was covered in ice and surrounded by snow 🙂

    Reply
    1. Ben Post author

      Looks like a beautiful lake in the rockies! I’d love to get back to this spot in the winter. I think some snow and ice would make for a much more interesting shot.

      Reply

Leave a comment