Into A Dream

Woodland, French Alps

On Sunday I was invited on a hike in le Massif des Bauges by one of my esteemed work colleagues. He grew up in this range of mountains located just south of Annecy, and was keen to show me how great they are. Apparently his mother literally wrote the book on hikes in the area! So I wasn’t surprised that it ended up being a fantastic day.

I turned to take a shot after crossing this small bridge and the lighting was just perfect. That moment felt almost dreamlike, as if the bridge could be a portal into another dimension. I did my best to recreate that feeling with my processing in Lightroom.

If you want to create a similar effect, try boosting the Temperature slider into the yellow end until you reach a level you’re happy with. Then add a post-crop vignette to draw the viewer into the shot. I know lots of people don’t like vignettes, but I think they work really well in images like this!

10 thoughts on “Into A Dream

    1. Ben Post author

      Thanks Hayley, I always forget you’re from the west country! Glad it brought back some memories πŸ™‚

      Reply
    1. Ben Post author

      I’ve been experimenting quite a bit with vignettes recently. Sometimes the tiniest bit of darkness added to the corners of a shot can make a huge difference.

      Reply
    1. Ben Post author

      Thanks Sreejith, sometimes it’s nice to let your imagination take over. I had great fun processing this image!

      Reply
  1. affreux973

    Very wonderfull shot, nice job !. I find it very warm in its colors but I also feel the freshness of the air surrounding the scene. Somethng very cheerfull.

    Reply
    1. Ben Post author

      That’s great you sensed the freshness, that’s exactly how it felt in the mountains. It’s one of the things I love most about being up there!

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Post-Processing in Lightroom: Into A Dream | Flights. Camera. Satisfaction.

Leave a comment