Travelling My Way Around Switzerland

Since moving to Switzerland a few years ago I’ve spent a great deal of time travelling around my new home. It has been an eye opening experience, with its wonders a constant source of surprise. My entry for Rhino Car Hire’s Travel Your Way competition focuses on Switzerland, and the means of transport I’ve used to discover its incredible landscapes.

Travel By Air

Cable-cars, gondolas, aerial cableways – do these forms of transport fall under travelling by air? I’m not so sure, but they’re not on the ground so I don’t know how else you could categorise them. Common forms of transport in Switzerland, they excite me like no other. Onward to the top of a mountain! They more often than not lead to mystical and magical places, transporting you to another world. There really is no feeling like it.

Gondola, Mount Pilatus

Travel By Road

The mountain passes of Switzerland offer some of the most picturesque driving routes anywhere in the world. Carving their way through valleys and over summits they really are a triumph, a pleasure to behold. To me the open road signifies freedom, the freedom to explore and discover. And there aren’t many better roads than those in the Swiss Alps.

Susten Pass, Switzerland

Travel By Rail

Some of the world’s greatest journeys are by rail, and in few places is this more apparent than Switzerland. Traversing seemingly impossible paths through the Alps the Swiss railways take travellers to otherwise unreachable destinations, though unbeatable landscapes. Whether it’s your bog standard train, a rack or cog-wheel railway, you can be sure that the view out of the window will hold your attention for the duration of your trip.

Train, Lavaux, Switzerland

Travel By Water

As a landlocked country you might expect to have to search long and hard for travel by water in Switzerland. But there are so many beautifully clear, pristine lakes that you’re spoilt for choice. The unique views available by boat are more than worth the effort, and there really is something especially peaceful about being out on the water.

Lake Lucerne, Switzerland

Thanks to HeyJude over at Travel Words for nominating me for this competition. Here are my five nominations – the closing date is 31st October so unfortunately there’s not much time to get your entries in!

1. Kan at Kan Walk Will Travel
2. Tina at Travels and Trifles
3. Charles at Charles Schnyder Photography
4. Thatiana at Never Clip My Wings
5. Lucy at On The Luce

You might also like:

26 thoughts on “Travelling My Way Around Switzerland

  1. Owls and Orchids

    Thank you for reminding me…. I have been looking through my old snapshots (an old point and shoot Canon) but it did take nice photos for what I needed. I really have to do something about that trip (story) – Geneva is amazing as is the rest of Switzerland. I’m so glad you reminded me… Thank You. Susan x

    Reply
    1. Ben Post author

      I’m glad I jogged your memory Susan. It’s great fun to look through photos from travels past. I look forward to reading some stories about your trip!

      Reply
    1. Ben Post author

      Thanks! It is indeed, taken from the area around the wonderful Lavaux vineyards. Well spotted! Do you know the area well? And good luck with the competition.

      Reply
    1. Ben Post author

      Thanks Janaline! Anybody is free to enter, you should give it a go! I Would love to see a collection of your shots from China 🙂

      Reply
  2. wanderlusterica

    Heading to Switzerland for my first time end of November! Heading to Zermatt to tackle the Matterhorn with my new snowboard 🙂 I’ll be checking for blog for other cool areas to see! 🙂

    Reply
    1. Ben Post author

      That sounds awesome! I’ve never been on the slopes up there but have heard they are fantastic. I hope you have a great time!

      Reply
    1. Ben Post author

      Thanks Ryan, that’s exactly how it looks! Considering its size it must be one of the most beautifully blue lakes in the world (on a sunny day!).

      Reply
  3. Lucy Dodsworth

    Great choices – especially like the train one, am hoping to do a few of Switzerland’s scenic train journeys next year, have been meaning to do a bit of Interailing for ages.

    Reply
    1. Ben Post author

      Thanks Lucy! There are so many great journeys in Switzerland. I think the one I’d really love to do is the Bernina Express in the east. I hope you make it out here next year! Are there any in particular you have your eye on?

      Reply
      1. Lucy Dodsworth

        The Bernina Express or Glacier Express in particular but there seem to be a good selection to choose from. I’ve done the train up to Moutiers from Geneva to go skiing and that was pretty scenic for just a normal train route too!

        Reply
        1. Ben Post author

          Yeah I think as long as you’re in the Alps it’s hard to go wrong! I’d love to do the Glacier Express one day as well, it’s just so expensive! I’m looking forward to reading about your journeys next year 🙂

  4. neverclipmywings

    Ben, now that I figured out that I have at least 6 more months in Milan (yay! :D) I want to start planning my trip to Switzerland! I really need some tips on that! I even thought about spending the New Year’s Eve there, but I have no idea in what city I should pick first! I just have in mind that I MUST see this brathtaking landscapes that you post here!

    Reply
    1. Ben Post author

      That’s fantastic you have more time in Milan, congrats! I’ve always thought that New Year’s Eve in the mountains would be brilliant, perhaps somewhere like Zermatt although I think it’s quite expensive there. But it’s hard to escape that in Switzerland!

      If you want any specific tips let me know (email or fb, however really!) but my must-see spots for mountains would be Zermatt (Matterhorn), Bernese Oberland (Jungfraujoch) and Mount Pilatus near Lucerne. The Lavaux wine region around Lake Geneva is also stunning. I’ll be interested to see where your plans take you!

      Reply
  5. i*Kan

    Great post. Cable cars should certainly qualify for travel by air 🙂 Been busy these past couple of weeks… totally missed this post 😦 Good luck with the competition!

    Reply

Leave a comment